SalarySwishSalarySwish
Forums/Anaheim Ducks

Verbeek Athletic Interview

28 févr. 2022 à 9 h 6
Rejoint: nov. 2018
Mentions "j'aime": 6,079
@OldNYIfan @Lenny7 @GeneralLandro

Not sure if you guys have access to the Athletic but Pierre LeBrun just had an interview with Verbeek so I figured I would share

LeBrun: Pat Verbeek’s first trade deadline as Ducks GM will not be boring
Welcome to the GM chair, Mr. Verbeek.

“Yeah, in all honesty though, with both Detroit and Tampa, I’ve been at this a long time, going back to when I was involved with Kenny Holland, so I’ve been doing it for 16-17 years,’’ Verbeek told The Athletic. “So it’s not like it’s the first time. It’s the first time me overseeing it.

“Steve (Yzerman) was always the guy making the calls, so was Kenny. But as far as being involved and having input and all that stuff, that’s not new. I do feel comfortable in the situation. The only thing is, at the end of it you’re the one pulling the trigger or not pulling the trigger.’’

Verbeek’s experience alongside Holland (Detroit) and Yzerman (Tampa Bay/Detroit) has pretty much exposed him to every trade deadline scenario.

“I’ve been a part of both buying and selling,’’ Verbeek said.

The Ducks are in a playoff race in the Western Conference although certainly not sure to get in. Factor in that Verbeek has inherited a roster that already had begun to rebuild, it’s pretty clear that buying isn’t in the cards.

The only question is how much selling is going to occur.

Hampus Lindholm, Josh Manson and Rickard Rakell are all pending UFAs, and all three would fetch sizeable interest on the trade market.

As I reported last week on TSN’s Insider Trading, Verbeek has approached the Lindholm camp and started talks on a potential extension. Whether it gets done or not remains to be seen.

But there doesn’t appear to be any grey area as far as what to do if the Ducks can’t get their top pending UFAs signed before the 3 p.m. ET March 21 trade deadline.